I Thought My Brother's Tribute to Eddie Van Halen Was Beautiful

9 Posts
8 Users
5 Likes
robslob
(@robslob)
Famed Member
Topic starter

Some here know, my younger brother Jason is a professional guitarist and he's been with Alanis Morissette for 19 years now and played with a lot of other big name artists like Sarah McLachlan and Kelly Clarkson.  I knew he was an Eddie Van Halen fan but I never knew HOW big a fan until I saw this tribute he posted on Facebook on Tuesday when Eddie passed away.  It's long but I think it's really special and intimate so I'm sharing.

I was never good at sports when I was a kid. I just wasn’t. I was the kid who got picked last for the teams at recess during kickball or whatever. Then around 11 or 12 I started riding skateboards. I lived on a dead end street and at the end there was a cement wash that some skateboarders had turned into a little skate park. I was there everyday I think. It was free, and I could walk there in 30 seconds, so it was perfect for a 12 year old growing up in Simi Valley, CA. I got pretty good and felt like I finally had a sport for myself, even though it wasn’t considered a mainstream sport back then. It was all I cared about.
After a while, lots of local kids would come to skate there. I met

Todd Huber

and Jerry Fenske and they were great skaters in my eyes. AND, they were nice to me. It was during these sessions of skating with a boom box playing that Jerry said one day “this song is so great to skate to”. That song was Jamie’s Cryin’. We were all really into the first Van Halen record at the time and I still think about how good it felt to skate to that song every time I hear it now.

Then I turned 14 and got my first guitar. It became clear pretty quickly that guitar was going to take over the “all I care about” place that skateboarding had occupied.