The Allman Brothers Band
9/16/71 Not bad aud...

Notifications
Clear all

9/16/71 Not bad audio. Hear drums, especially Butch, real well plus Oakley's bass.

11 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
robertdee
(@robertdee)
Famed Member
Topic starter

It's at the Warehouse.  And it seems to be in stereo. 

Someone highlighted Gregg, Duane, Berry and Butch's birth and death years on what looks like a gate fold on an album.  

Cowboy on the show. And it cost a budget busting 5 dollars!!! 

I was at the Warehouse once and it was a smoking show. This one is too. 

This topic was modified 3 years ago by robertdee

Posted : December 2, 2020 10:58 pm
JimSheridan
(@jimsheridan)
Noble Member

Hey, this is a real treat for me. Thanks for posting this. 

I am no expert and no collector. I could not tell you if this is a recording that has been out there in trading circles or not. I can't guarantee that I don't own this under some different name, for that matter. Bootlegs do get mislabelled, and at this point I do have a foolish number of recordings, more than I can keep track of.

But this rocks!!!! The brers are in fine form on it, and the audio is clear enough for me. So, again, thank you. 

Posted : December 2, 2020 11:54 pm
robertdee
(@robertdee)
Famed Member
Topic starter

Jim I too think I've heard this before but not sure. If I have, the clarity wasn't this good. Nice Blue Sky version too on this and a good Mountain Jam. 

Posted : December 3, 2020 6:36 am
CrossEyedCat
(@crosseyedcat)
Estimable Member

Not sure Cowboy played that night, rather Wet Willie.

The story behind the recording can be found here http://www.blackstrat.net/TapeStory.html

Thanks to John DuBois for recording it.

You can hear a fight breakout in the audience before the band launch into Statesboro Blues.

Posted : December 3, 2020 8:22 am
robertdee
(@robertdee)
Famed Member
Topic starter