The Allman Brothers Band

Allman Brothers Band Looks Ahead to Summer Tour

By: Rob Evans
For LiveDaily

The Allman Brothers Band will occupy their summer as they typically do–on the road, playing dozens of concerts at a mix of amphitheaters, festivals and theaters. What’s atypical about this tour is that the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame members are touring behind a new album–their first new studio set in nine years. Karl Denison’s Tiny Universe supports on most dates.

In March, the Allmans released “Hittin’ the Note,” which includes 11 new tracks. The band’s lineup now features Gregg Allman (vocals, keyboards), Butch Trucks (percussion), Derek Trucks (guitar), Marc Quinones (percussion), Oteil Burbridge (bass), Jaimoe (percussion) and Warren Haynes (guitar).

“There’s a lot of power in this lineup,” Allman said in a statement. “The more we played, the more we realized how good we were sounding, so we figured we’d start writing some new songs and cutting them. We wound up surprising ourselves with how much great stuff we came up with. Hell, we’ve got enough left over to cut another record right now.”


Leave a Reply