The Allman Brothers Band

Legacy/Epic Records to Release the ABB’s Atlanta Pop Performances


Legacy/Epic Records has set a Oct. 21 release date for a new double-disc live album by the Allman Brothers Band. “Live at the Atlanta International Pop Festival — July 3 & 5, 1970” collects two performances by the then-new group, opening and closing the second annual Atlanta International Pop Festival.

The Allman Brothers Band, hailing from nearby Macon, Ga., had only released its self-titled Capitol debut at the time, and its seminal live album “Live at Fillmore East” was not to be recorded for eight more months. The lineup at the time featured the late Duane Allman on slide guitar, keyboardist Gregg Allman, guitarist Dickey Betts, bassist Berry Oakley, drummers Butch Trucks and J. Johnny Johnson and harmonica player Thom Doucette.

The release features two discs of previously unreleased performances, including takes on “Statesboro Blues,” “One Way Out,” “Dreams,” “Whipping Post” and “Mountain Jam.” Johnny Winter joins in as a special guest on the July 5, 1970, version of the latter.

At the Atlanta shows, the band played a host of material that at the time had not been released, including a number of songs from “Idlewild South,” which would be issued later that year.

Here is the track listing for “Live at the Atlanta International Pop Festival — July 3 & 5, 1970”:

Disc one:

“Statesboro Blues”
“Trouble No More”
“Don’t Keep Me Wonderin'”
“Every Hungry Woman”
“Hoochie Coochie Man”
“In Memory of Elizabeth Reed”
“Whipping Post”
“Mountain Jam Pt. I”
“Rain Delay”
“Mountain Jam Pt. II”

Disc two:

“Don’t Keep Me Wonderin'”
“Statesboro Blues”
“In Memory of Elizabeth Reed”
“Stormy Monday”
“Whipping Post”
“Mountain Jam”


Leave a Reply