The Allman Brothers Band

Haynes to Tour with the Dead

By: Jeff Waful
For Rolling Stone

As if he wasn’t already busy enough, Allman Brothers Band/Gov’t Mule guitarist Warren Haynes will tour with the Dead. The band, which will play a one-off gig in San Francisco next month and tour extensively this summer, features members of the original Grateful Dead — guitarist Bob Weir, bassist Phil Lesh and drummers Mickey Hart and Bill Kreutzmann — as well as guitarist Jimmy Herring and keyboardist Jeff Chimenti. Vocalist Joan Osborne and keyboardist Rob Barraco, who toured with the band last year, will not return this summer.

“It’ll be completely new territory with me, Jimmy and Bobby all playing guitar,” says Haynes, who will handle vocal responsibilities on much of the Dead’s repertoire. “Jimmy and I go way back and Bob’s very unique so I’m looking forward to tapping in to that.”

Haynes will also continue his trademark hectic schedule performing with the Allman Brothers Band and Gov’t Mule this spring and summer. “I’ll be busy with all three bands,” he says. “There might be a couple of overlapping Allman Brothers and Dead shows.” Next month, Mule will head out for a string of headlining concerts in addition to some opening dates for Kid Rock.

Prior to heading out on the summer tour, the Dead will preview their new lineup at the 2nd Annual Winter Jam at the Warfield in San Francisco on February 9th. As for the tour, the first leg is expected to kick off in mid-June and run through July 4th with a second leg to begin later that month and run through August.


Leave a Reply