ABB documentary -- any news?

16 Posts
8 Users
1 Likes
Billastro
(@billastro)
Prominent Member
Topic starter

Does anyone know what's going on with this project?  

At 23:39 The Allman Bothers comes up with a tease about a decent documentary.

Billastro

Posted : January 26, 2021 12:24 pm
dzobo
(@dzobo)
Reputable Member

I asked this in an email to Kirk West several months ago and his response was a "thumps up".  But I have no idea why it is taking so long.  I think there may be a concern about the effects the pandemic would have on distribution.

Posted : January 26, 2021 1:44 pm
peachlovingman
(@peachlovingman)
Reputable Member

I've been asking folks on here for at least 10 years asking why the Atlanta Pop Festival show is never released on DVD. I never get a straight answer. Every once in a while, another little tease is released, but still no movie with Duane. I can even remember several years ago when the footage from the Atlanta Pop Fest was to be combined with footage from another festival- in a "Southern Woodstock" documentary heavily featuring the ABB. Chuck Leavell narrated a trailer for this upcoming film and then one song from the APF - "Statesboro Blues"- showed up on youtube. Insiders on here  said they had seen the recently developed raw film and said it was in pristine condition, despite having sat in the can undeveloped for 45 years! But not long after,  the trailer with Chuck disappeared.

Most of you probably remember that several months ago, another song/video- I think it was "Don't Keep me Wondering" from the APF featuring Duane was released on youtube, but then it was pulled without explanation. Dickey even had it up on his instagram for a few days! It was an awesome clip.  I had seen the Eddie Kramer interview you posted, and so I was hoping that he had completed the film and remixed the music, so the release of the DVD couldn't be far behind. I was wrong.