Don't click or your IP will be banned


Hittin' The Web with the Allman Brothers Band Forum
You are not logged in

< Last Thread   Next Thread >Ascending sortDescending sorting  
Author: Subject: Any home recording/project studio cats here?

Peach Pro





Posts: 300
(300 all sites)
Registered: 10/15/2005
Status: Offline

  posted on 12/19/2006 at 12:28 PM
I'm about to upgrade to a digital recording medium.

I've decided to go with SONAR as the pc program, but I'm undecided on an interface.

I was about to get the Alesis USB total mixer(total EQ) until I saw a firewire based 8 channel interface(no EQs...just input gain control). The fire wire based model is a few hundred more than the Alesis

what do ya'll use and why?

 

____________________
http://www.stonefreeblues.com
I gots da bluez

 
Visit User's Homepage
Replies:

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 20223
(20237 all sites)
Registered: 9/22/2005
Status: Offline

  posted on 12/19/2006 at 12:50 PM
I use some canned job, Creative Wave Sudio that came in my computer package and a 99 cent microphone.
Can't do any overdubs so you get what you get.
I'm interested in seeing what folks have to say.

 

____________________
If we practice and eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth, soon the whole world will be blind and toothless. -Mahatma Gandhi.

 

True Peach



Karma:
Posts: 14057
(14111 all sites)
Registered: 7/17/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 12/19/2006 at 02:29 PM
I have a program called Acid Music, by Sonic ( I think that's the company). It's real simple, cheap and you can overdub.

Last year, Donna got me a small 8 channel mixer for Christmas with firewire and USB. It turned out to be incompatible with my version of Windows (2000), but it would work with XP. Acid Music doesn not require the mixer, it would just make the process simpler.

I am looking at one of those self-contained jobs (Tascam or Fostex). These come in 2, 8 or even 16 track models, some with built-in CD burners. Since I can't find anyone pathetic enough to jam with me, I figure I'll jam with myself.

 

____________________
Music is love, and love is music, if you know what I mean.
People who believe in music are the happiest people I've ever seen.

Bill Ector, Randy Stephens, Dan Hills and a guy named BobO who I never met - Forever in my heart!

 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1656
(1656 all sites)
Registered: 3/30/2006
Status: Offline

  posted on 12/19/2006 at 04:44 PM
I've run everything from ProTools mBoxs to MOTU 828s to ProTools 192 interfaces connected to a 72 input Neve 88RS board......... Recording is my life so, ask away.

I've never used SONAR (just Digital Performer and ProTools) so i can't really comment on it much as a DAW host but if you're looking at interfaces i can make some comments on them.

What is the interface you are looking at? Have no fear about not having onboard EQ on your interface. Generally, you want your interface to just act as an interface, not a compressor and EQ or whatever else. SONAR, I'm sure comes with plug-ins (EQs / compressors) that can provide this power within your PC. You can even purchase software versions of EQs which can sound really great. You can spend anywhere from $99-$750 on these plugins. I would suggest for your interface just concentrating on getting the amount of inputs and outputs you would need. The computer can handle the rest for you.

Welcome to home recording. It's a blast!

 

____________________


 

Peach Pro



Karma:
Posts: 300
(300 all sites)
Registered: 10/15/2005
Status: Offline

  posted on 12/19/2006 at 10:39 PM
Here's the two I'm looking at:
http://www.americanmusical.com/item--i-ALE-MULTIMIX12USB.html
http://www.americanmusical.com/item--i-PRS-FIREPOD-PAK.html

 

____________________
http://www.stonefreeblues.com />
I gots da bluez


 

Peach Head



Karma:
Posts: 49
(53 all sites)
Registered: 3/5/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 12/20/2006 at 03:36 AM
Go here ... http://www.geocities.com/missippy/mp3s.html
for two examples of home recordings a buddy and I did 5 years ago ... t'was my first experience recording direct to hard drive ... used an M-Audio - Delta Series converter ... Sonar software ... '62 Strat ... Blackface Princeton Rev. ... TS-9 Tube Screamer, Sm-57 mic ... all effects (rev. delay, comp. eq, etc.) are all sonar plugins.

"South Of The Georgia Border"
"Steaddie Freddie"
("Someboy's Child" was recorded in a "real" studio ... well, sort'a real)

The site provider is stingy with the bandwidth so, be patient, play nice and take turns.

ENJOY !!!
(heeey helen)

 

____________________

 
E-Mail User

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1656
(1656 all sites)
Registered: 3/30/2006
Status: Offline

  posted on 12/20/2006 at 04:20 AM
quote:
Here's the two I'm looking at:
http://www.americanmusical.com/item--i-ALE-MULTIMIX12USB.html
http://www.americanmusical.com/item--i-PRS-FIREPOD-PAK.html




Ok..... so i looked over the interfaces and here's what i think. I think you're better off with the Firepod and AT2020. Here's why........ Presonus has a good name currently, Alesis's is...... ok. Plus if you buy the Alesis mixer honestly it's kind of redundant to do that... SONAR should have an internal mixer for you to use. The advantages of the internal mixer over the Alesis is you get fader automation on the internal; better EQs; more sends/returns; far more channels; depending on how SONAR's meter's are, you can get a better read off them than the LEDs on the Alesis; and you wouldn't have to spend all the money on cables (and loose quality) with doing everything in the box. A HUGE downside to the Alesis is that it only transmits your stereo mix to the computer, where as the Firepod does 8 simultaneous channels. If you really want to get physical faders for your system eventually, I would recomend getting a digital control surface. Basically what a control surface does is allow you the ability to control your internal mix in the physical world. here's what one looks like:



on top of what i just listed, I think overall it would be simpler to just have the firewire interface and not have to worry about a mixer and patching etc. Plus in order for you to actually use the Alesis to mix your sessions after they were tracked you would need something like the Firepod. It's true you can use the mixer while you are tracking but all those channels you dedicated to specific instrunets would be lumped into a stereo master on your computer. It would be impossible to individually go into a vocal track after it was tracked and add some EQ or compression.

Just make sure you've got a firewire port, fair amount of RAM loaded and your processor is reasnoably quick. Digital audio processing can become incredibly intensive and taxing on the CPU.

Audio Technica mikes have been getting good reviews lately, paticularly their budget range, which is what the AT2020 is. The condenser would sound good on your voice and acoustic instruments (paticularly acoustic guitars). Just be careful sticking one in front of a screaming Twin. The whole package looks like a good deal to me, i've seen the Firepod listed at $500 elsewhere and the AT2020 listed at $100, so basically they're giving you the mic free.

Hope this helps....... ask more questions, i'll be glad to provide more input.

[Edited on 12/20/2006 by RobFilmMusic]

[Edited on 12/20/2006 by RobFilmMusic]

 

____________________


 

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 20223
(20237 all sites)
Registered: 9/22/2005
Status: Offline

  posted on 12/20/2006 at 05:06 AM
quote:
Since I can't find anyone pathetic enough to jam with me, I figure I'll jam with myself.


I only have 1 track Rusty so I can't even do that !

 

____________________
If we practice and eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth, soon the whole world will be blind and toothless. -Mahatma Gandhi.

 

World Class Peach



Karma:
Posts: 5463
(5472 all sites)
Registered: 12/14/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 12/20/2006 at 11:21 AM
The new Digitech JamMan updates the infamous looping stomp box, has an expandable memory card slot & a USB interface. It retails for around $300. But I think it would make a great interface. Still doing some research on it though.

http://www.digitech.com/products/JamMan/JamMan.htm



[Edited on 12/20/2006 by slowhand6]

 

____________________

 

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 20223
(20237 all sites)
Registered: 9/22/2005
Status: Offline

  posted on 12/20/2006 at 11:29 AM
I have a bud who has one of those Brian, the night he brought it to work for me to give a whirl, he forgot the adapter cord. Another guy at work used it one night and said its a pretty sweet machine. I think johnwott has one of these machines you are refering to.

I'm probably gonna go with a BR600 pretty soon. Another guy at work has one of these and they do a mighty fine job. Flash memory also though.
He records bands around Dallas. He walks in, lays it on a table, turns it on and make a few input adjustments and comes back with some pretty good sounding stuff...this is just using the built in microphones also.

 

____________________
If we practice and eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth, soon the whole world will be blind and toothless. -Mahatma Gandhi.

 

World Class Peach



Karma:
Posts: 5463
(5472 all sites)
Registered: 12/14/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 12/20/2006 at 11:40 AM
Jon, I have been skeptical about buying a loop pedal. But I have also had bad luck with interfaces. I had a Zoom PS-02, which was not very user friendly. I want something that will enable me to play against myself quickly & store. I had Sound Forge XP that I got back around 99-2000 and it still works pretty well. The trick with the interface & the software is to find something capable yet simple. I have heard lots of good things abot GoldWave for software. We used to use it in the Coast Guard to playback & manipulate radio distress calls. I don't think I ever had any formal training using it & I could do hi/lo bypass filters, speed up & slow down, & unedits within seconds.

 

____________________

 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1656
(1656 all sites)
Registered: 3/30/2006
Status: Offline

  posted on 12/20/2006 at 03:13 PM
quote:
Jon, I have been skeptical about buying a loop pedal. But I have also had bad luck with interfaces. I had a Zoom PS-02, which was not very user friendly. I want something that will enable me to play against myself quickly & store. I had Sound Forge XP that I got back around 99-2000 and it still works pretty well. The trick with the interface & the software is to find something capable yet simple. I have heard lots of good things abot GoldWave for software. We used to use it in the Coast Guard to playback & manipulate radio distress calls. I don't think I ever had any formal training using it & I could do hi/lo bypass filters, speed up & slow down, & unedits within seconds.


Brian, i don't have experience with Goldware but i think you are right in saying that you need to find something simple and capable. Soundforge is an excellent program as well.. I've even seen large mastering houses use it for playback. Most audio software is fairly simple, it just looks daunting and i know the thought of them can be as well. In reality, all audio software has done is just taken a simple multi-track tape recorder and added the power of computer processing and storage.

I would advise against getting standalone digital recorders. Those simply become outdated quickly and in a matter of years they will be ceased in manufacturing and become extremely obsolete. Buying a new standalone unit is far more costly than investing in upgrades for your computer and there is no way you could even get anything back if you decide to sell a standalone unit.

As always though, this is supposed to be fun and creative so, buy what you feel comfortable with.

 

____________________


 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1751
(1751 all sites)
Registered: 10/14/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 12/20/2006 at 11:07 PM
I've been using Firepods to record my band. One to do "studio" (rehearsal basement) recordings and two daisy-chained to do live recordings. I love them - they're fairly easy to use once you get the hang of them and they sound pretty darn good even with mediocre mikes. Plus the PreSonus tech support has been very helpful. And Rob is right - home recording is a blast!

 

____________________
we are not here to create or cling to beliefs. we are here to pay attention.

 

Peach Head



Karma:
Posts: 124
(124 all sites)
Registered: 7/8/2004
Status: Offline

  posted on 12/21/2006 at 11:28 AM
I'm not a real wiz on the details of my digital recording set up, but this is what I use.

I bought a stand alone digital recording program called Magix Music Maker 10. I think it cost about $50.00. It's very easy to use and allows me to record as many tracks as my computer hardrive can handle...usually at least 7-10 tracks per song. Once I get 3 or 4 tunes finished, I dump them onto a CD to relieve the hard drive.

It's got a very nice internal mixer and a bunch of effects that you can apply to individual tracks "AFTER" you record them (reverb, distortion, surround sound, EQ, etc.) There's also a bunch of drum options and other stuff that I don't even mess with cause most of it sounds real canned. All in all it's easy to use and sounds OK.

I also use an external mixer which I just run right into my sound card. I'll run my guitars or bass or keyboards right into the mixer and then right into the sound card.

My weakest link may be my monitor speakers. Fairly basic computer speakers. So when I'm mixing stuff down it's a little tough to get a true idea of the sound because of the speaker quality.

I enjoy the hell out of it though....and I spend hours doing it. Thanks for asking and if anyone needs any help with their projects, I'd be more than happy to lend any assitance that I can. Keep recording and posting all your stuff. Have fun !!

Chris Kane

 

____________________
Tell me why when the phone rings baby
you're up and cross the floor ?

 

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 13909
(15926 all sites)
Registered: 3/14/2004
Status: Offline

  posted on 12/21/2006 at 09:08 PM
quote:
I've run everything from ProTools mBoxs to MOTU 828s to ProTools 192 interfaces connected to a 72 input Neve 88RS board......... Recording is my life so, ask away.



Rob, i just got an Mbox2..still trying to figure out how to use it...i can't seem to change the drum track tempos on my BFD lite drum tracks..any suggestions ?

 

____________________

 

A Peach Supreme



Karma:
Posts: 2463
(2463 all sites)
Registered: 11/14/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 12/22/2006 at 08:06 AM


I would tell you what i use, but it sounds like crap anyhow, so not much point

 

____________________

 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1656
(1656 all sites)
Registered: 3/30/2006
Status: Offline

  posted on 12/22/2006 at 10:33 AM
quote:
quote:
I've run everything from ProTools mBoxs to MOTU 828s to ProTools 192 interfaces connected to a 72 input Neve 88RS board......... Recording is my life so, ask away.



Rob, i just got an Mbox2..still trying to figure out how to use it...i can't seem to change the drum track tempos on my BFD lite drum tracks..any suggestions ?



Lefty, I responded to your PM

 

____________________


 

Peach Pro



Karma:
Posts: 300
(300 all sites)
Registered: 10/15/2005
Status: Offline

  posted on 12/22/2006 at 12:48 PM
Thanks for all of the responses! Looks like I'm going with the Firepod. On


Americanmusical.com's system requirements it said that Window's XP Service Pack 2 was not yet approved, but the tech guy from Presonus said "Hogwash"...ok he didn't actually use that term, but you get the idea!

I'm sure I'll be back with more rookie questions too!

 

____________________
http://www.stonefreeblues.com />
I gots da bluez


 

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 29948
(30044 all sites)
Registered: 1/26/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 12/26/2006 at 10:59 PM
Protools 5.2 with a audiomedia III card on a Power Mac 7600/440 G3

24/bits 48KhZ, 4 channels, Sp/dif.


Looking to upgrade can't decide on which hardware, Digi002 rack or Mbox 2 pro.

 

____________________
People Can you Feel It?

 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1656
(1656 all sites)
Registered: 3/30/2006
Status: Offline

  posted on 12/28/2006 at 04:24 PM
quote:
Protools 5.2 with a audiomedia III card on a Power Mac 7600/440 G3

24/bits 48KhZ, 4 channels, Sp/dif.


Looking to upgrade can't decide on which hardware, Digi002 rack or Mbox 2 pro.




Jon, It looks like the only difference between the Mbox pro and 002 is the amount of inputs and outputs. If you think you'll use 8 in and the ADAT go for the rack but otherwise save on the MBox i would say. PT 7 is a lot better than 5.2 especially with MIDI.

you'd probably have to upgrade your mac too.

 

____________________


 

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 29948
(30044 all sites)
Registered: 1/26/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 1/9/2007 at 02:57 AM
Already upgraded the mac wnen I got the digitech gnx4 . but the gnx4 doesn't suit my needs for
MIDI and Recording.

I think I'd like more than 2 channels in. Cost is a factor.

I can get a trade towards the 002 rack with the Audio Media III







 

____________________
People Can you Feel It?

 
 


Powered by XForum 1.81.1 by Trollix Software

Privacy | Terms of Service | Report Infringement | Personal Data Management | Contact Us
The ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND name, The ALLMAN BROTHERS name, likenesses, logos, mushroom design and peach truck are all registered trademarks of THE ABB MERCHANDISING CO., INC. whose rights are specifically reserved. Any artwork, visual, or audio representations used on this web site CONTAINING ANY REGISTERED TRADEMARKS are under license from The ABB MERCHANDISING CO., INC. A REVOCABLE, GRATIS LICENSE IS GRANTED TO ALL REGISTERED PEACH CORP MEMBERS FOR The DOWNLOADING OF ONE COPY FOR PERSONAL USE ONLY. ANY DISTRIBUTION OR REPRODUCTION OF THE TRADEMARKS CONTAINED HEREIN ARE PROHIBITED AND ARE SPECIFICALLY RESERVED BY THE ABB MERCHANDISING CO.,INC.
site by Hittin' the Web Group with www.experiencewasabi3d.com