The Allman Brothers Band

We do not sell any merchandise directly – these are links provided to external retailers for your convenience and subject to change.  Please check carefully to make sure you are buying the desired album.

Affiliate disclosure:  we may receive a commission for sales through these links.

Bear’s Sonic Journals: Fillmore East, February 1970

Release Month


Release Year


These recordings were not previously released in their entirety because they contain significant gaps, usually due to reel changes in the middle of songs. Bear wanted people to have the option of hearing the shows. So here it is!

In this case, Bear’s complete recordings include previously unreleased material of the Allman Brothers, with Duane in his prime. On each night, you can find something special and rare” even if only in a fragment or a solo.

Whether or not you may be inclined to compare all three of these earliest live versions of Elizabeth Reed, or to study Bear’s placement of microphones each night, or to splice your own version of Mountain Jam to compete with the one Bear and Jeffrey Norman first assembled back in 1996, we thought it important to make it all available with the blessing and support of the Allman Brothers Band.


1. In Memory of Elizabeth Reed
2. Hoochie Coochie Man
3. Statesboro Blues
4. Trouble No More
5. Outskirts of Town
6. Whipping Post
7. Mountain Jam

February 11, 1970

1. In Memory of Elizabeth Reed
2. Statesboro Blues
3. Trouble No More
4. Hoochie Coochie Man
5. Mountain Jam (Incomplete)

February 13, 1970
1. In Memory of Elizabeth Reed
2. Outskirts of Town (Cut)
3. Mountain Jam (Incomplete)

February 14, 1970
1. In Memory of Elizabeth Reed
2. Hoochie Coochie Man
3. Outskirts of Town (Incomplete)
4. Whipping Post
5. Mountain Jam (Incomplete)