Don't click or your IP will be banned


Hittin' The Web with the Allman Brothers Band Forum
You are not logged in

< Last Thread   Next Thread >Ascending sortDescending sorting  
Author: Subject: EAC Configuration Tips compilation (Top, Please)

Extreme Peach





Posts: 1065
(1067 all sites)
Registered: 2/18/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 7/15/2005 at 12:35 AM
Hey Traders,

I'm hoping the powers that be (Rowland?) consider this thread I've put together worthy of 'topping' similar to the Postage Rate and Trading Preferences ones that were recently 'topped' so they would always be located at the top of this forum.

Given all the threads that have popped up overs the years about how to use EAC, to some of which I've offered replies, I thought I'd compile as much information as I could find in one place. As a participant of this board, consider using EAC for ripping all your audio CDs. Our standard here for CD-R audio trades is to ALWAYS extract your audio tracks to WAV files first, and then burn the CD-R discs from those WAVs. EAC is simply the best program, based on resultant audio quality, that is available. There are some other decent rippers available (dBpowerAMP) that can be used if EAC simply won't work for you, but you should certainly avoid ripping with standard audio playing apps (WMP, WimAMP). These are certain to introduce pops and clicks to the output WAVs and quickly pollute our trading pool, and we don't want that doody in our pool!

I'm not the expert on this crap, just have picked this up over 6 years of trading, so please review what I've offered and offer corrections where applicable.

Lastly, note that none of this extraction stuff applies when working with lossless SHN and FLAC files. Oh yeah, no MP3-sourced here either. Again, it's like peeing in our pool.

Ron



Here we go:


Under EAC > Drive Options (or F10), the only settings you really need to be concerned about are :

> Extraction Method, for which the preferred setting is 'Secure Mode'

drop an audio CD in your drive and run the Detect Read Features and Examine C2 Feature. If it indicates that your drive has Caching, then you want 'Drive caches audio data' to be on. If you're postive that your drive supports C2 checking, toggle on the 'Drive is capable of retrieving C2 error information'. Beware that sometimes that drive is detected to have C2 functionality when indeed it does not. The safest bet is to turn it off. I'm not positive what the 'Accurate Stream' setting if for, but I believe I read a while back that it's best to turn it off.

> Offset/Speed

Here I pulled a bunch of information from previous posts by me and a few others. Here they are:

===============================
Goliath wrote:

Follow these simple instructions to set your EAC offset:
a) Extract any disk (call it original) in secure mode (always, always, always secure mode).

b) Burn that disk (call it copy).

c) Extract copy.

d) Select option "Compare Wav" (Under Tools). Select a track from the original, then from the copy.

e) It will compare and give either a missing or extraneous sample #. This is your offset #. If the original is missing samples or the copy has extraneous (repeated) samples the offset is a positive number.If the copy is missing samples or the original has extraneous (repeated) samples the offset is a negative number.

f) Enter the offset # in the Sample Offset field (Under EAC, Drive Options, Offset/Speed).

g) Repeat steps a-d. If it's set correctly, there will be no missing or extraneous samples - meaning, you made an exact duplicate.

You're good to go.


============================================
I wrote:


Let me see if I can offer some info to help others get set up. Bottom line is that in order to take advantage of EAC, you need to set it up properly. IMO, if you don't do this, it'll still be better than other extraction methods, but not near as good as it should be. Here's the method for setting up your Offsets:

Under EAC>Drive Options >Offset/Speed, set up the appropriate values. EAC can be used for both reading and writing discs, but the latter only if your drive supports it. Setting up for read only is easier, but you can add writing later by switching to 'use combined read/write offset sample correction'. My drive (a Plextor 40x) has the ability to write w/ EAC, but I started with a drive that didn't and became comfortable with CDRWin for burning, so I haven't switched yet.

There are two ways to determine your offset value

1.) Use 'Detect read sample offset correction' option on the Offset/Speed panel with one of the discs found here: http://www.exactaudiocopy.de/eac3.html#CDList. This is a Refence CD list, a list included with the EAC application. If you have one of the listed CDs and run the 'Detect..' function it will tell you what it is and actually set the value for you. Note that the ID value (inner ring of the disc) on your release of the CD has to match the one they have listed. I lucked out and used my Sgt. Peppers CD.

2.)
i.) Rip a disc with EAC to produce WAVs with your offset set to 0.
ii.) Burn an audio CD from the WAVs
ii.) Re-rip a track or two from this new CD (still with Offset 0) to a different location
iv.) From EAC, use Tools>Compare WAVs...
The Comparison will return a message saying there's missing samples. If the message says 'the original file is missing samples or the new file has extraneous samples', the offset is a positive number. In contrast, if it indicates 'the new file is missing samples or the original file has extraneous samples', the offset is a negative number.
v.) Go back to EAC>Drive Options >Offset/Speed and set number of missing samples to the offset value, with a plus or minus sign dependng on the message from iv.) above.
vi.) Repeat steps i.-v. and you should end up with zero samples missing.
Clearly, option A is much easier, but it's dependent on you having one of the Reference CDs.

All of the above is just a summary of what I've learned over time from the links below. Check them out for yourself and feel free to add to my babbling:

http://www.exactaudiocopy.de/eac3.html

http://pages.cthome.net/homepage/eac/articles.htm
http://pages.cthome.net/homepage/eac/setup.htm
http://pages.cthome.net/homepage/eac/setup1.htm


http://www.cdrfaq.org/

Happy extracting!!

Ron

PS - I know some of what I wrote duplicates Goliath post, but I had this written partially for a while and felt sharing in full was the best way to go. But really, I just want to be like David!!

=========================================
If you're lucky, your drive will be listed at the link below and you won't need to worry about determining the offset.

I wrote:

No excuse now, folks. The link below provides a list of recorded drive offsets for a host of common CD-ROM drives. In other words, you don't have to figure out the read offset yourself. The offsets are provided "in a format compatible with dBpowerAMP Music Converter (dMC) and Exact Audio Copy (EAC)."

http://www.accuraterip.com/driveoffsets.htm
=====================================================

Another question that has come up is the filenames of the WAV files output by EAC:


Stephane wrote:

Is there any ways to name a file (tracks) before starting EAC? I always get "file name will be ignored". It's a pain to always re-name every tracks! Lemme know.



I wrote:

EAC > EAC options > Filename tab OR F9 > Filename tab

Under naming scheme, enter the abbreivated name you want to use to assign to the tracks. The t%N variable can be used to go with the track numbers. For example, when extracting Disc 1 of Jack Pearson's 9/25/04 show, I used:

jp2004-09-25d1t%N

then will need to switch to this for Disc 2 to:

jp2004-09-25d2t%N


Hope this helps,


Ron

==========================================
Some more general information can be found here:
I wrote:
Always good to lean on what others have done when setting up EAC...

http://www.rivarilu.demon.nl/eac/

======================================


 
E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage
Replies:

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 16605
(16605 all sites)
Registered: 6/4/2004
Status: Offline

  posted on 7/15/2005 at 05:35 AM
Good idea Ron, easy access to what you need to know about EAC.

 

____________________


R.I.P. Hugh Duty


 

Peach Master



Karma:
Posts: 754
(754 all sites)
Registered: 3/13/2005
Status: Offline

  posted on 7/15/2005 at 12:21 PM
Thanks for the post Ron.

I’ve been meaning to post something along these lines for a week or so.

Let me add the following:

FOR THOSE WHO HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO GET EAC TO WORK

Try an earlier version of EAC if you have trouble with the most recent version of EAC. (Thanks Billy Kain!)

I was concerned about deleting the version I previously downloaded, because I could not find it in “Add/Delete Programs.”

To “uninstall” eac, do the following:

“Start” “Run” type in “regedit.exe” click “OK”.

Then delete the key at HKEY_CURRENT_USER\software\AwSoftware\eac.

Now you have uninstalled EAC.

Then try to install an older version (I had to try two older versions before I found a version that worked for me.)

After you install, in addition to the instructions above posed by Ron, use the tutorial at rivarilu.demon.nl/eac to fine tune the settings. (Beware: the tutorial works in “layers” so at times it is repetitive.)

FOR THOSE WHO HAVE NEVER SET THEIR OFFSETS OR OTHERWISE CHECKED WHETHER THEY IN FACT ARE MAKING EXACT AUDIO COPIES

As far as I can tell, you can use EAC but still not necessarily be making exact audio copies if you have not set it up properly—so its important to use the compare function to check.

Yes the offsets are very complicated to read about in the tutorial. But actually doing the track comparison as explained above by Ron is relatively simple. Basically, you are trying to rip a track, burn it, and then rip it again to make sure it hasn’t changed along the way. If it has changed along the way (which seems just about automatic), EAC will give you the adjustment you need (called the “offset”), to make it right. And once you do the comparison again and get it right (EAC reports no differences between the two tracks), you’ll be confident that you are making exact audio copies all the time—unless for a given rip/extraction EAC reports to you that it had an error and did not make an exact copy (you’ll know the offset is right when you use the compare feature and it reports that no differences exist between the two versions of the track.).

If the compare function reports differences between the tracks after you have adjusted the offset, consider whether you may have adjusted it in the wrong direction (added when you should have subtracted or vice-versa). Also, it was recommended to me to use a commercial cd that is say at least 2 years old (and hence no copyright protection) to perform the offset set-up.

I also am no expert, so anyone feel free to correct or add to what I have posted.

 

A Peach Supreme



Karma:
Posts: 2221
(2232 all sites)
Registered: 2/3/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 7/15/2005 at 01:17 PM
just curious what happens if you don't extract in "secure" mode and just use the default?
Also, is it better to just extract the files or test and extract at the same time?

 

____________________
Language is a virus from outer space.

 
E-Mail User

Peach Master



Karma:
Posts: 587
(669 all sites)
Registered: 8/3/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 7/15/2005 at 04:29 PM
Ron, which version of EAC are you using. I'm thinking about trying to download it again, but I'd like to know your version so I can follow your instructions.
Sal

 

____________________
It's all about the music. It's all about Hittin the Note

 

Peach Master



Karma:
Posts: 754
(754 all sites)
Registered: 3/13/2005
Status: Offline

  posted on 7/15/2005 at 05:28 PM
quote:
Ron, which version of EAC are you using. I'm thinking about trying to download it again, but I'd like to know your version so I can follow your instructions.
Sal


Go for it Sal!

If I did it, anybody can.



Joel

 

Peach Master



Karma:
Posts: 587
(669 all sites)
Registered: 8/3/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 7/15/2005 at 05:35 PM
Whick version did you use?

 

____________________
It's all about the music. It's all about Hittin the Note

 

Peach Master



Karma:
Posts: 587
(669 all sites)
Registered: 8/3/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 7/15/2005 at 06:35 PM
^

 

____________________
It's all about the music. It's all about Hittin the Note

 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1065
(1067 all sites)
Registered: 2/18/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 7/16/2005 at 12:31 AM
Sal, I'm running eac095b2 at the moment. I recently reformatted my HD and put a new OS on it. Before that, I believe I was running eac09pb11.

Ron

 
E-Mail User

Peach Master



Karma:
Posts: 587
(669 all sites)
Registered: 8/3/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 7/16/2005 at 12:10 PM
Thanks Ron. I'm gonna give this one more try.
Sal

 

____________________
It's all about the music. It's all about Hittin the Note

 

Peach Extraordinaire



Karma:
Posts: 4548
(4579 all sites)
Registered: 3/8/2004
Status: Offline

  posted on 7/16/2005 at 06:33 PM
I'm in the eac boat too right now....LOL ...
I just had to reformat & it won't let me download the new version & tells me to use an older one ...When I do the older one it tells me this is an old version & to download a newer version.......
I'm very noncomputer....I had no problem with eac on my first use last year.....Any thoughts......Oh yeah , I have windows ME

Peace, Mike

 

Peach Extraordinaire



Karma:
Posts: 4548
(4579 all sites)
Registered: 3/8/2004
Status: Offline

  posted on 7/17/2005 at 10:09 AM

 

Peach Master



Karma:
Posts: 587
(669 all sites)
Registered: 8/3/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 7/17/2005 at 10:39 PM
^

 

____________________
It's all about the music. It's all about Hittin the Note

 

Peach Master



Karma:
Posts: 505
(507 all sites)
Registered: 3/12/2004
Status: Offline

  posted on 7/18/2005 at 11:21 PM
bump

 

____________________
John

...it just keeps on flowing,
It don't worry 'bout where it's going, no, no...

 
E-Mail User

Peach Head



Karma:
Posts: 54
(54 all sites)
Registered: 12/18/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 7/25/2005 at 05:09 PM
good general information here

 

____________________
Talking of tomorrow and the money, love and time we had to spend, Loving you was easier than anything I'll ever do again...

 

A Peach Supreme



Karma:
Posts: 2936
(2990 all sites)
Registered: 1/6/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 7/26/2005 at 01:07 AM
bumping this one up

 

____________________
"and the sign said long haired freaky people need not apply"




 

Maximum Peach



Karma:
Posts: 9038
(9053 all sites)
Registered: 9/30/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 7/26/2005 at 04:00 AM
quote:
just curious what happens if you don't extract in "secure" mode and just use the default?
Also, is it better to just extract the files or test and extract at the same time?

In "secure mode", the WAV file is read several times before being sent to the Hard Drive. You've noticed the "error correction" graph? Secure mode makes sure the errors are corrected by running lots of samples before deciding what to send to the HD files.

I have run the test and extract, and the extract only. Other than taking twice as long to rip the disc, I don't see the neccessity to test before you extract. Even if you have one of those pesky tracks that bogs down the process, you'll find it even if you're ripping only.

Here's my newbie tip:

You need to have a folder to send the track files to. Make a new folder before you start the extract because it will ask you where to store the extracted files

My folders are labeled with the artist name & date and disc number (in the case of a multiple disc show). ABB3-21-05 (1), QMS 6-7-68 (2) are a couple of examples.

Just remember to create the folders before you start. You'll have to exit out of EAC to do it if you forget, no big deal.

For those taking a poll, I am using EAC ver0.95pb3 on WindowsXP.

Here's my question to the veterans:

When I started using EAC, I would see extraction speeds of up to 6.9 regularly. 20 months and thousands of discs later, I am lucky to get a 4.9 speed during extraction, even with no errors to correct.

Anybody?

 

____________________

 

Peach Master



Karma:
Posts: 754
(754 all sites)
Registered: 3/13/2005
Status: Offline

  posted on 7/26/2005 at 08:14 AM
I don’t think I qualify as a veteran, but I usually extract in the 3.5 to 4.5 range.

Also, per my recent query on another thread—No other applications should be running while ripping or burning. Even anti-virus software should be turned off.

 

World Class Peach



Karma:
Posts: 5822
(5827 all sites)
Registered: 7/4/2004
Status: Offline

  posted on 7/26/2005 at 09:49 AM
quote:
quote:
just curious what happens if you don't extract in "secure" mode and just use the default?
Also, is it better to just extract the files or test and extract at the same time?

In "secure mode", the WAV file is read several times before being sent to the Hard Drive. You've noticed the "error correction" graph? Secure mode makes sure the errors are corrected by running lots of samples before deciding what to send to the HD files.

I have run the test and extract, and the extract only. Other than taking twice as long to rip the disc, I don't see the neccessity to test before you extract. Even if you have one of those pesky tracks that bogs down the process, you'll find it even if you're ripping only.

Here's my newbie tip:

You need to have a folder to send the track files to. Make a new folder before you start the extract because it will ask you where to store the extracted files

My folders are labeled with the artist name & date and disc number (in the case of a multiple disc show). ABB3-21-05 (1), QMS 6-7-68 (2) are a couple of examples.

Just remember to create the folders before you start. You'll have to exit out of EAC to do it if you forget, no big deal.

For those taking a poll, I am using EAC ver0.95pb3 on WindowsXP.

Here's my question to the veterans:

When I started using EAC, I would see extraction speeds of up to 6.9 regularly. 20 months and thousands of discs later, I am lucky to get a 4.9 speed during extraction, even with no errors to correct.

Anybody?


I have found it much easier to name the folders starting with the year like this 2005-ABB-7-9-05 this way it always arranges the folders by the year and makes it alot easier to find.I also include a word document in the folder with the show of the setlist and any sourse info ,I alway send a setlist with my shows....

<>Slammer<> do you defrag and clean out all your temp files cookies ect? on regular basis??? if not you should also run a program called <.crap cleaner> and also<regseeker> you can google them, if you have not reformatted in a year or two then your pc is full of crap and temp files in the registery that are used when you install programs ,i just cleaned mine up and it is like a new pc. CAUTION!!!! READ THIS! if you are not familiar with using programs like this get help and always back up first ...hope that helps.

 

____________________
"Any man who thinks he can be happy and prosperous by letting the
Government take care of him; better take a closer look at the American Indian." -Henry Ford

 

True Peach



Karma:
Posts: 12432
(12472 all sites)
Registered: 11/26/2001
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/4/2005 at 07:03 PM
Bump..... here ya go, Jim!

 

____________________
Live your life in such a way that when your feet hit the floor in the
morning, Satan shudders & says... 'Oh sh!t....she's awake!!'

 

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 18687
(19089 all sites)
Registered: 7/2/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/4/2005 at 08:20 PM
Thanks...and he who was asking me questions thanks you too....
 
E-Mail User

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 16605
(16605 all sites)
Registered: 6/4/2004
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/6/2005 at 06:27 AM
^^

 

____________________


R.I.P. Hugh Duty


 
 


Powered by XForum 1.81.1 by Trollix Software

Privacy | Terms of Service | Report Infringement | Personal Data Management | Contact Us
The ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND name, The ALLMAN BROTHERS name, likenesses, logos, mushroom design and peach truck are all registered trademarks of THE ABB MERCHANDISING CO., INC. whose rights are specifically reserved. Any artwork, visual, or audio representations used on this web site CONTAINING ANY REGISTERED TRADEMARKS are under license from The ABB MERCHANDISING CO., INC. A REVOCABLE, GRATIS LICENSE IS GRANTED TO ALL REGISTERED PEACH CORP MEMBERS FOR The DOWNLOADING OF ONE COPY FOR PERSONAL USE ONLY. ANY DISTRIBUTION OR REPRODUCTION OF THE TRADEMARKS CONTAINED HEREIN ARE PROHIBITED AND ARE SPECIFICALLY RESERVED BY THE ABB MERCHANDISING CO.,INC.
site by Hittin' the Web Group with www.experiencewasabi3d.com