Don't click or your IP will be banned


ABB - Tweeter Center, Mansfield, MA, 8/10/2002

Hey now, happy Sunday. I've got to say the Allmans show last night was the best show I've seen in a long time. Everyone was in top form and the interplay between Derek and Warren was awesome. New songs sound great, when's that album coming out? Some beautiful melodic work by Derek on Dreams and the Mountain Jam encore was just swell. started off so soft and sweet. Anyone here who they dedicated it to? I had someone screaming in my ear while Warren was talking. As usual Oteil's solo was just beautiful. It was
good to hear the boys not just cranking out the tunes few shows I've seen.There was definately some experimenting going on and
the vibe is back.


Added:  Sunday, August 11, 2002
Reviewer:  Chris Real
Score:
hits: 12111
Language: eng

  

[ Back to reviews index ] [ Post comment ]

Posted by Anonymous on Aug 26, 2005 - 10:46 PM
Your rating:

A sick show but still I would've loved to hear One Way Out or Blue Sky or something off Eat a Peach. Well they did play Melissa and Jessica was amazing but other than that I'd like to hear more of the stuff I really love by those guys. Hopefully they come around again.

Posted by Anonymous on Aug 22, 2005 - 04:19 PM
Your rating:

Below applies to 8-20-05 show.

Posted by Anonymous on Aug 22, 2005 - 04:15 PM
Your rating:

You're kidding, right? Virtually none of the good ol' stuff. An ABB concert without "Whipping Post" and "One Way Out", to name just a few? ("Blue Sky", "Statesboro Blues", "Stormy Monday", etc.) The musicians were outstanding, but the jams repetitive and seem designed to minimize the number of tunes they would play. The drum solo(s): wow, that was two old dudes who have seen better days. And the encore: let's just say it would be good to have something recognizable. The college kids up on the hill who had been rockin' to Moe were basically played out and sitting down and resigned to not hearing a whole lot of what they came for.

Posted by Allmanbrosfan on Nov 02, 2002 - 10:46 AM
Your rating:

This was the first show that I had been to by the Allman Brothers and I have to say what a 1'st show, the Allmans were amazing. I scored some backstage passes and it was just amazing to be sitting next to gregg, warren, derek, butch, mark, and Jaimoe, and Oteil. They are so chill and they put on a nasty show so keep on Jammin boys.

Posted by Anonymous on Aug 17, 2002 - 12:51 AM
Your rating:

dedicated to the passing of michael houser from widespread panic

Posted by Anonymous on Aug 15, 2002 - 08:42 PM
Your rating:

pnc bank arts center 8/14. had great seats. 18th row from stage right down the middle. sorry to say it was the worst AB's show out of the 30 or so that i've been to and one of the worst shows of any of the 500 or so that i've been to. flat as a pancake. dickey must return, although maybe even he could'nt have saved this one:(1 POSITIVE) BUTCH'S KID CAN RIP IT!:) PEACE!

Posted by Anonymous on Aug 12, 2002 - 02:35 PM
Your rating:

Wonderful concert on Saturday.....my guess is that 80% of those attending were not born the last time I saw ABB at Boston Garden in the 70's. What I remember from then was sittting high up in the cheap seats (less than $10 a ticket) for fantastic hours of rockin blues. So it was great to enjoy music that spans the years now with everyone enjoying. Derek Trucks blew me away...just standing there playing wonderful slide. Dreams was wonderful. Greg sings those quiet blues like no other. The jams were hot. Get the picture!!

Posted by Anonymous on Aug 12, 2002 - 10:43 AM
Your rating:

The Mountain Jam was dedicated to Michael Howser (lead guitarist and singer / song writer) from Widespread Panic who passed away Saturday after a bout with Cancer. I was fortunate enough to see his second to last show (he couldn't make it all the way through his last one) and their first one without him. Widespread is the only jam band that even comes close to the Allmans so everyone should check them out! This was my 21st Allmans show, and I would have to say it's probably the best one I've seen. 2:45 straight through with a 40 minute Mountain Jam encore? Oh My! - Johnny B

Posted by hemidevil on Aug 11, 2002 - 11:55 PM
Your rating:

Hey Now! The Brothers were ON last night down in Mansfield, MA. That show absolutely smoked. We got Dreams, and we got Mountain Jam! I am a fortunate man! Anyone else notice Derek? Any time the boys had the opportunity to lay their axes down, he was the only one who didn't. How does that boy get on the bus with his SG strapped on him? I MUST get a tape of this show! I was crossing the lot during Trouble no more, and was just getting to my seat during the outro for Nobody left to run with. Fool! The Brothers should consider releasing a live album from this gig. A good time had by all, I'm sure!

Posted by Anonymous on Aug 11, 2002 - 11:15 PM
Your rating:

Hello. I do not know where to start. My best pal and I drove from LI, NY to catch this show and we scored front row seats in front of Oteil (who, by the way jams!!!)... it was a perfect night. Warren, Warren, Warren... what can I say about him except that he is THE MAN! It's been since April when I saw him w/ Mule at the Beacon and I was starting to suffer from withdrawal. This show was the fix I needed. Great Mtn Jam.. with a Will the Circle Be Unbroken tease!!!! Would have been happier with a longer drums... but what can ya do? All in all, a great show.... cannot wait to catch Jones Beach on Tuesday. Does anyone know why they did not play Montage Mtn in Scranton? I had a great time there last summer. OK, well peace and love to my brothers and sisters. Oh, thanks to all the "wicked" great people we met in the parking lot in Mass. You were all very kind.

Posted by Anonymous on Aug 11, 2002 - 03:47 PM
Your rating:

Mountain Jam was dedicated to Widespread Panic guitar player Michael Houser who died yesterday after a battle with cancer

Posted by Anonymous on Aug 11, 2002 - 01:23 PM
Your rating:

Mixed rating for last night's show at the venue formerly known as Great Woods. Most importantly, to the band, thanks for the Mountain Jam. Mark's slow rolling percussions, and Oteil's solo were hauntingly beautiful. Just a treat to here such an awesome composition / jam. Soulshine was great, Dreams was great - I could go on. Warren, you're electric, man. On the other hand, two big thumbs down to Tweeter. First of all, and I've had this gripe for years, how do you take a great great theater with a totally hip name like Great Woods and turn it into the Tweeter Center? Weeeeeeeeeeeeeak. Second, wood chips...no really, I think it's totally cool to pay 35 bucks for a concert to stand / sit on wood chips. In my town, we have these things called lawns. They're green and soft and they smell great. Think about it. Third, the sound. What a terrible advertisement for Bose speakers...turn up the rock, guys. Final beef: to the idiots chanting "Yankee's Suck," get a life and some self respect. Go Yanks, Go Sox, Go Baseball, Go USA, Go Allmans.

Posted by Anonymous on Aug 11, 2002 - 10:50 AM
Your rating:

The Encore was dedicated to Mike Houser who passed away late Aug.9th. Mike was the lead guitarist for Widespread Panic. Very nice move on "The Brother's" part.


Privacy | Terms of Service
The ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND name, The ALLMAN BROTHERS name, likenesses, logos, mushroom design and peach truck are all registered trademarks of THE ABB MERCHANDISING CO., INC. whose rights are specifically reserved. Any artwork, visual, or audio representations used on this web site CONTAINING ANY REGISTERED TRADEMARKS are under license from The ABB MERCHANDISING CO., INC. A REVOCABLE, GRATIS LICENSE IS GRANTED TO ALL REGISTERED PEACH CORP MEMBERS FOR The DOWNLOADING OF ONE COPY FOR PERSONAL USE ONLY. ANY DISTRIBUTION OR REPRODUCTION OF THE TRADEMARKS CONTAINED HEREIN ARE PROHIBITED AND ARE SPECIFICALLY RESERVED BY THE ABB MERCHANDISING CO.,INC.
site by Hittin' the Web Group with www.experiencewasabi3d.com